Views & Reviews From Writer Steve Miller
Formerly Reviews and Stuff at Rotten Tomatoes, 2005 - 2009.

Currently Showing at Cinema Steve

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

31 Nights of Halloween: The Kings of Halloween



It's a rap tune, yo. Chillin before we be illin from eatin' too much candeeee, beeiaaach.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

31 Nights of Halloween: Kitties

While Terror Titans is the home to the horror short films all this month, this one is weird enough (and cute enough) that it belongs here, despite the presence of a zombie, a zombie hunter, and... someone else.

Directed by Greg Hanks


Pentatonix and 'Somebody That I Used to Know.'

From the Covers That Are Better Than the Original Performance Department:


The members of Pentatonix.

Friday, October 12, 2012

31 Nights of Halloween: It's a Dead Man's Party!

Whether you came of age during the 1980s, as I did, or you are of a later or even earlier generation, I doubt you will disagree there's a more rousing Halloween Anthem than Danny Elfman's "Dead Man's Party."

This post features a couple versions from the original performers, as well as some of the best covers floating around YouTube.

I'll kick things off with the ultimate version of the song--the extended remix featured on the "Best of Boingo". It's perhaps the greatest expression of that uniquely dark yet can't-help-but-dance style that was the hallmark of the best Oingo-Boingo songs.




Here's the video for the original song, as well as the original song. It's a little slower and a little less elaborate in the sonic layers and busiwork... but still cool beyond cool. (There is one more version that you'll commonly hear that falls in between the two I feature here, both in style and length.)





Here's a version of the song by The Last Dance that emphasizes the dark and horrific aspect of the song, but which is almost as amazingly cool as the original.





And, finally, Waltham brings us a metal variant that leans in a more playful direction than The Last Dance version. They make the song their own, but they don't quite measure up to the original.

Monday, October 8, 2012

My feet are not long fellows.

Lester Smith of Popcorn Press is putting together another Halloween poetry and short-short fiction anthology--this one is titled Cthulhu Haiku & Other Mythos Madness.

Since I am in a poetic mood at the moment--I am putting the finishing touches on a little collection of Robert E. Howard poems for release by NUELOW Games--I decided to try my hand as some verse.

I just submitted the best two of a dozen little poems I've written over the past few days, and I thought I'd share one of the ones I didn't feel worth submitting.




HE RETURNS
The Black Pharaoh walks
the trackless sands of Egypt.
Dread fills sleeping minds.





If you can do better than that, you should consider sending Lester a poem or two. Submissions are open through 10/13/2012. For details about the project (and links to the Kickstarter page that goes with it), click here.

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Why do you make me suffer, oh Lord?!

I love McRib sammiches! They are the only thing I get from McDonald's on a regular basis... which means that I am only a regular customer of McDonald's for that all-too-brief period each year when their heavenly McRib sammich is available for purchase and consumption.


But this year, there will be no October/November McRib Runs for me. Because McDonald's isn't going to offer the McRib UNTIL LATE DECEMBER!

Why, God, do you make me suffer so?! Why do you deny me my McRib sammich?! Are the evil powers of corporate greed so strong that even You cannot prevent their wickedness?!

And it is only pure greed that is keeping the McRib sammich from making its annual appearance. After looking at ways to strengthen the fourth-quarter 2012 OPNAD calendar, McDonald's made the decision to move the sandwich promotion to the latter half of December. 

Where are the Occupy [Insert Random Location Here] goons?! Why aren't they storming McDonald's locations across the United States in response to this bare-faced example of the worst possible corporate green?! Where are the demands from Obama that McDonald's behave like responsible corporate citizens and give us our McRib sammiches?! Where is Harry Reid and his imaginary friend with demands that the McRib be acknowledged as a right rather than a privilege?! And why aren't the presidential challengers speaking out about this issue?! The first one to fight for the McRib By Election Day will get my vote!!

Give me McRib sammiches or give me death! (Actually, not getting McRib sammiches probably extends my life... but is a life without the McRib worth living? I think not!)


The heavenly McRib will return in time for Jesus's birthday!

Thursday, October 4, 2012

31 Nights of Halloween: Texas Chainsaw Yakety Sax

There are two kinds of people: Those who think "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" is one of the greatest horror movies ever made, and those who think "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" is one of the dumbest horror movies ever made.

This clip might bring them together in Halloween cheer....




Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Terror Tuesday: Kart Driver by Drew Daywalter

Every Tuesday this month, I'll bring you a strange or horrific short film you can watch in its entirety right here at Cinema Steve. It's all part of the 31 Night of Halloween celebration taking place across my blogs.

First up is a bizarre little number about a plumber who may seen eerily familiar....


Kart Driver (2011)
Starring: Robert V. Galluzzo, Azure Parsons, Ben Giroux, and David Mattey
Director: Drew Daywalt
Rating: Eight of Ten Stars

Monday, October 1, 2012

The 31 Nights of Halloween Have Begun!

For yet another October, Terror Titans will flooded with Halloween-related posts from now until the Big Night, and there will be spill-over at Shades of Gray and my other blogs, too.

Please stop by every now and then to see what's going on... and possibly even to leave a comment or two on the great little short films I'll be showcasing.

This graphic was "borrowed" from Fullmoonmaster.
Check out his Deviant Art page by clicking here.